Archive Record

  • Email This Page
  • Send Feedback
Catalog Number 1977.13.29
Object Name Letter
Accession number 1977.13
Description Letter

1977.13.29_Clyde Chilson to Family_February, 1918_Page 01

Fort Sill [Oklahoma February] 1918: My Dear Sis & Brother & Family I received your letter some time ago but will ans at last I am getting all right now every thing is about the same down here. I got a letter from Florence the other day, and she wants to come back to me she says she see where she was a fool now as it was to late but I guess I will give her another chance for she is sure a good decent little girl and you no sis they are hard

1977.13.29_Clyde Chilson to Family_February, 1918_Page 02

[page 2] to fine don't you so wouldn't you give her a chance if you were me she lives at 704 W 23rd St that must be right out there by you she is not going to shool at fulton any more and she's of age now and you no mother has nothing to say well sis I would sure love to trot down there with you for I want to stick with you till I die Oh yes have you received my insurance papers yet you had ought to by now. I get 10,000 for 650 a month that

1977.13.29_Clyde Chilson to Family_February, 1918_Page 03

[page 3] is good don't you think so if anything happen to me you get 57.00 a month for 20 years and if I am total disable I get it just the same and there is more come back disable than there is gets killed but I don't really think we are going across, well how is little Arthur getting along and the girls I would love to see all of you folks and if you were going to be there the last of march I would come home but I couldn't come to [ms illegible: 2 wds] only get 7 days and I couldn't have any time at all

From the service of Corporal Clyde Chilson, Battery B., 129th F.A., 35th Division, A.E.F.
Date n.d.
Subjects World War I
Letters (Home)
Love
Love letters
Dating (Social custom)
Insurance
Insurance certificates
Casualties
Injured
Death
War casualties
Disabled veterans
Weather